mtbdales >> bike news >> Pennine Bridleway officially opens
Pennine Bridleway officially opens
Pennine Bridleway officially opens

Pennine Bridleway officially opens
comments | Wed Jun 20

The Pennine Bridleway, a 205 mile bridleway for cyclists, walkers and horse riders has been officially opened. The Pennine Bridleway stretches from The Peak District to Cumbria and includes sections in Lancashire, Calderdale and The Yorkshire Dales national park. The Bridleway uses ancient packhorse trade routes and drove roads that have been connected by new links and sections with negotiation from land owners, local authorities and National parks.

The Pennine Bridleway runs roughly parallel with the old Pennine Way, The Yorkshire Dales to Cumbria section also runs parallel to the Settle Carlisle Railway, allowing mountain bike riders and walkers to commute by train between sections of the route and access the Yorkshire Dales sections from cities such as Leeds or Bradford.

Starting in the Peak district the 14 sections of the Pennine Bridleway are:

Middleton Top to Parsley Hay
Parsley Hay to Peak Forest
Peak Forest to Hayfield
Hayfield to Uppermill

Uppermill to Summit
Summit to Lumbb
Lumb to Hebden Bridge
Hebden Bridge to Summit
Mary Towneley Loop to Barnoldswick
Barnoldswick to Long Preston
Long Preston to Stainforth
Stainforth to Horton-in-Ribblesdale
Horton-in-Ribblesdale to Moorcock Inn
Moorcock Inn to Ravenstonedale

The Pennine bridleway costs 10m to construct and was spearheaded by Natural England. Natural England chairman Paul Christensen said: "We are delighted to have completed the Pennine Bridleway route which provides outstanding opportunities to enjoy some of England's finest countryside and is a fantastic asset for tourism in the north of England. This has been a genuine joint effort and we are grateful to all partners in the Pennine Bridleway and to all the landowners who've helped make this possible."

The Pennine Bridleway was officially opened by Men behaving badly star Martin Clunes at the village of Clapham. Mtbdales have mapped some of the existing open sections of the Pennine Bridleway, with a view to mapping its entire length in the near future.

Aireton - Malham
The Settle loop
The Norber circular
Wycoller - Coldwell

For those wishing to ride the Pennine Bridleway in its entirety an excellent new mountain bike guidebook is available. The book "Cycling the Pennine Bridleway" maps and describes 110 miles of the Trail from Summit at the bottom of the Mary Towneley Loop to Ravenstonedale near Kirkby Stephen in Cumbria.

The guide also includes 11 graded loops in the Yorkshire Dales based on looping sections of the Pennine Bridleway and allows the rider to attempt short sections of the Pennine Bridleway rather than riding it in its entitrity.

The book is available to buy from Amazon.

Martin Clunes opening The Pennine Bridleway at the village of Clapham


gorelated links >> Cycling The Pennine Bridleway Guide book | Cycle friendly accomodation





have your say...
your name:

your comments:






 is a directory for mountain bikers visiting & riding the Yorkshire Dales

Web Design Headjog | PlanetJake Stock Photos | Royalty Free Photos | Jake Richard Freelance Design | Headjog Music | Google